In fall 2023, the Duke Office of Research Initiatives hosted Foundations of Research Success: a seminar series of research how-tos and resources at Duke. This seminar series was tailored for School of Medicine and School of Nursing researchers and provided both practical information for navigating key research topic areas, as well as opportunities to engage with peers and research leadership. Check back for future offerings of this seminar series.

seminar Session recordings and slides

Finding and Apply for Funding  - Tuesday, September 5 12:00-1:30pm

Presenters and facilitators: Laurianne Torres, Alicia Korenman, Anita Shirley, Dana Sanders


Data Management Planning - Wednesday, September 13 12:00-1:30pm

Presenters and facilitators: Warren Kibbe, Jenny Ariansen, Sophia Lafferty-Hess, Terri West


Navigating Institutional Approvals - Thursday, September 21 12:00-1:30pm

Presenters and facilitators: Geeta Swamy, Angie Padget, Anna Hampton, Courtney Stanion, Derek Jones, Mary Brock, Rebecca Brouwer


Disseminating Your Research - Monday, September 25 12:00-1:30pm

Presenters and Facilitators: Isaretta Riley, Monica Lemmon, Jen Darragh, Karl Bates, Megan Von Isenburg, Michael Musty


Budget Development - Tuesday, October 3 12:00-1:00pm

Presenters: Dana Sanders, Kristina Balderson


International Research - Thursday, October 5 12:00-1:00pm

Presenters: Broderick Grady, Daniel Vick, Gerald Bloomfield, Kelly Deal


Utilizing EHR Data  - Tuesday, October 10 12:00-1:00pm

Presenters: Armando Bedoya, Shannon Widman


Grant Financial Management - Thursday, October 12 12:00-1:00pm

Presenters: Chelsea Penumarthy, Christoph Hornik, Deborah Martin, Derek Jones


Translation and Commercialization - Tuesday, October 17 12:00-1:00pm

Presenters: Pearce Jackson, Robin Rasor


Publications and Authorship - Thursday, October 19 12:00-1:00pm